Updated Federal and State Filing Deadlines

By Daniel Packard, MAcc, CPA, CVA, CFE

The US Treasury Department and the IRS recently announced that the federal income tax filing due date for individuals will be automatically postponed from April 15, 2021 to May 17, 2021.  Please note that the postponement applies only to individual federal income tax returns and related tax payments otherwise due on April 15, 2021.  The relief does not apply to 2021 quarterly estimated tax payments due on April 15, 2021.

States have issued separate guidance regarding any potential due date changes.  Specific nuances and changes do not always comply with the federal postponement.  Below is a list of states who have postponed the 2020 individual filing deadline to May 17, 2021:

  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Massachusetts
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Due to winter storms, Texas, Oklahoma, and Louisiana have until June 15, 2021 to file various individual and business tax returns and make tax payments.

If applicable, please prepare to make your Q1 2021 federal estimated tax payment by April 15, 2021.

We will keep you apprised of further developments.  If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to your Cooper Norman representative.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.